Elizabeth Shane, M.D.

Elizabeth Shane, M.D. is Professor of Medicine, Vice Chair of Medicine for Clinical and Epidemiological Research at Columbia University, College of Physicians & Surgeons in New York City and Attending Physician at Columbia University Medical Center. Dr. Shane received her undergraduate training at Dalhousie University and her medical degree from the University of Toronto in Canada. She completed her medical internship at the Toronto General Hospital and her medical residency on the Medical Service of Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City. She did her training in Endocrinology and Metabolism at the College of Physicians and Surgeons and the Presbyterian Hospital in New York. Her research interests include osteoporosis associated with organ transplantation, osteoporosis in premenopausal women, bone disease associated with HIV infection, and many secondary forms of osteoporosis such as renal bone disease and bone loss due to medications and disorders of the gastrointestinal tract. She is PI on several NIH grants, including one to investigate idiopathic osteoporosis in premenopausal women, and others on bone disease in HIV-infected postmenopausal women and the utility of high resolution peripheral QCT scanning to characterize bone microarchitecture in various bone diseases associated with fractures. Dr. Shane was Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism (2000-2004), Associate Editor of the First through Sixth Editions of the Primer of the Metabolic Bone Diseases and Disorders of Mineral Metabolism, and currently serves on the Editorial Boards of Bone and the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research. Dr. Shane belongs to a number of professional societies including the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR), the Endocrine Society, and International Society for Clinical Densitometry and the American Association for Clinical Endocrinologists. She has served on the Council for the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR), as Program Chair for the 2001 Annual Meeting, as President of ASBMR, and is currently the ASBMR representative to the Board of Directors of FASEB. She chaired or co-chaired three ASBMR Task Forces, on Ethics in Publishing in 2005, Osteonecrosis of the Jaw in 2006-7 and Atypical Femur Fractures in 2009-10. At the 2013 ASBMR annual meeting Dr. Shane received the Frederic C. Bartter Award, in recognition for her outstanding clinical investigation in disorders of bone and mineral metabolism.

Click here for a list of Dr. Shane's publications.